27 October, 2016


6 October 2016

Notice of Planning Assessment Commission Meeting Airly Mine Extension D433-16  

I am writing to you as you have provided comments, or a submission, to the Department of Planning and Environment (DP&E) on the above proposal. The Department has completed its assessment of the application and has now referred it to the Planning Assessment Commission for determination, under the terms of the Minister’s delegation.

The Commission to determine the application comprises Ms Robyn Kruk AM (chair), Mr David Johnson and Dr Maurice Evans.

Due to the level of public interest in the proposal, the Commission will be meeting to hear public views on the Department’s Assessment Report and recommendation, prior to determining the proposal. This is a final opportunity for you to comment on the Department’s assessment and recommended conditions of approval, before a decision is made.

The Commission meeting is scheduled to commence at 2:00pm on Thursday, 27 October 2016 at the Lithgow Workies Club, 3-7 Tank Street Lithgow NSW 2790. The meeting is open to the public to observe the proceedings.

If you wish to comment on the DP&E’s recommendation at the meeting, you must register to speak by contacting Philippa Vale on (02) 9383 2105 before 1:00pm, Tuesday, 25 October 2016.

The Assessment Report (including recommendation) is now available on the Commission’s website www.pac.nsw.gov.au (reference: D433-16). Other documents associated with the application are available on the DP&E’s website via http://majorprojects.planning.nsw.gov.au (reference: SSD- 5581).

If you have any questions on the Commission process, please call me on 02 9383 2100 or email pac@pac.nsw.gov.au

Yours sincerely

Jorge Van Den Brande
NSW Planning Assessment Commission                                                                              


Level 3, 201 Elizabeth Street SYDNEY, NSW 2000 TELEPHONE (02) 9383 2100    FAX (02) 9383 2133 pac@pac.nsw.gov.au  

17 October, 2016


Elected for Committee at the CVA AGM on 16th October 2016 -

Donna Upton
Bruce Upton
Wendy Williams
Alex Mateer
Mary Thirlwall
John Thirlwall and 
Kerrie Cooke.

28 September, 2016

Central Tablelands Local Land Services

Threatened species field day Capertee Valley (Friday)
Central Tablelands Local Land Services will be partnering with the Office of Environment and Heritage (OEH) to hold a field day in the Capertee Valley focusing on information and identification surrounding some of the valley’s unique threatened species, to celebrate Biodiversity month. (September) and Threatened Species day which was officially celebrated earlier in the month on the 7th September.
The field day will focus on 2 specific plants that are found in the northern part of the valley, the Phebalium bifidum and the Grevillea obtusiflora. As well as a short talk from Ross Crates who is undertaking a PHD on the Regent Honeyeater, as well as an update from National Parks about programs that they have planned for the coming months. Ross Crates from ANU will also be showing us some regent honeyeater nesting sites.
When: Friday 30 September
Where: Meet at the intersection of Glen Alice Rd and Port Macquarie Rd (Park along Port Macquarie Rd), before we finish off with some short presentations and lunch at the Glen Alice Hall.
Time: 9.30, and finishing at the Glen Alice Hall for Lunch
Cost: FREE
What to bring: Bring your hat, sturdy shoes, water and jacket (we will be outside for part of the workshop). Lunch will be provided
More information and to RSVP
For more information and to RSVP for catering and logistics purposes please contact peter.evans@lls.nsw.gov.au ph 6350 3110 or Bruce Christie bruce.christie@lls.nsw.gov.au ph 6378 1712. Please RSVP by Wednesday 28th September.

20 September, 2016

A New Mayor?

From: Lithgow Ratepayers [mailto:lithgowratepayers@gmail.com]
Sent: Monday, 19 September 2016 5:54 PM
To: Lithgow Ratepayers
Subject: MEDIA RELEASE: Lithgow City Councillor Martin Ticehurst to nominate for election as Lithgow Mayor.

MEDIA RELEASE: Lithgow City Councillor Martin Ticehurst
to nominate for election as Lithgow Mayor.

After the recent Lithgow City Council Elections, the Lithgow Mercury is asking online:  Who will be Lithgow's mayor?

"Cr Statham has expressed a desire to run for a second term so all eyes will be on the upcoming meeting to see who, if any, among the newly elected council will throw their hat in the ring and put their hand up for the position."

Look's like there is now another Candidate for Lithgow Mayor?

15 September, 2016

LCC Election Results

From: Lithgow Ratepayers [mailto:lithgowratepayers@gmail.com]
Sent: Monday, 12 September 2016 11:03 PM
To: Lithgow Ratepayers
Subject: Lithgow City Council Election: Explosive if true?

Lithgow City Council Election:  Explosive if true? 

Local Election Scrutineers are confirming that the new Councillors to be elected from the Lithgow City Council Elections are all expected to be confirmed late this Wednesday afternoon and those expected to be elected are:

Statham; Ticehurst; Coleman; McAndrew; Smith; Leslie; Cox; Ring and Goodwin.

The National's Lithgow & District Community Forum, who have apparently spent well over $50,000 on their mainly behind the scenes Election Campaign, are expected to have 4 Councillors elected onto the new Lithgow City Council.

The Labor Party and Independent Candidates aligned with the Labor Party are expected to have 4 Councillors elected onto the new Lithgow City Council.

The last remaining new Lithgow City Councillor will be long-time Independent Lithgow Councillor Martin Ticehurst.

BUT, in a bizarre new twist, Local Election Scrutineers are now reporting that one of the newly elected Lithgow City Councillors has cold feet and is expected to thereafter announce their resignation as a newly elected Councillor, causing an immediate By-Election costing another $150,000?

AND believe it or not - it's apparently NOT the controversial Lithgow City Councillor, Martin Ticehurst who is still awaiting a final decision from the NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal (NCAT) on a previous Tribunal Hearing that could see him disqualified for five years?

We all wait and see?